How to restore your backups on Google Workspace (AMBaaS version)
August 17, 2026
Please use the following steps to restore Google Workspace data using AhsayOBM.
- From the AhsayOBM home screen, click Restore.
- Select the backup set containing the Google Workspace data you want to restore.
- Select your preferred backup destination.
- Select a Document Copy Destination.
- Normal Destination restores Google Workspace documents from standard backup locations, such as Ahsay Drive or a local destination.
- Google Drive is a recommended destination used for lossless Google Workspace backups.
- Keep the default selection Google Drive.
- Configure the Temporary Directory if needed.
- Click Next.
- Select the Google Workspace data you want to restore: Users and/or Shared Drive.
- Click Next.
- Select what to restore: Choose from files as of job is selected by default, with the latest version displayed.
Scenario 1: How to use features to make restore process efficient
- Select the specific data you want to restore (ex. Gmail data)
- Use the Keyword Quick Search feature to quickly locate a specific email.
- To preview an email, click the Preview button on the right side of the email column.
- If the email contains an attachment, click the attachment to download it without restoring the entire email.
- Select a destination where to store the restored data and click Continue.
- Alternatively, click Quick Download to quickly restore a specific email.
- Select a destination where to store the data and proceed with the restore.
- After the restore is completed, open the selected destination and verify the downloaded email and attachments.
- Use a third-party application to properly read and open restored Gmail data and other restored Google Workspace data, if needed.
Scenario 2: Restore a Google Workspace document to an Alternate User (within the same organization)
- From the Restore page, open the Drive tile and select the Google Workspace document you want to restore.
- Click Next.
- Keep the default restore method: Restore to Google Workspace.
- Select Alternate and Restore All Versions.
- Click Advanced Option and modify the settings as desired.
- Click Next.
- Select the alternate user from the same organization.
- Click Restore to start the restore job.
- After the restore has completed successfully, sign in to the alternate user account and verify that the document has been successfully recovered.
- Open the restored document and compare it with the original version from the original account owner to verify that the layout, formatting, and structure have been preserved.
For more in-depth restore scenarios, check out our videos: