Backup data to Dropbox with Ahsay
Message us on Facebook
Existing partner, login to
Partner Portal
AhsayCBS v
Release date:

Using Dropbox as the Backup Destination

AhsayOBM and AhsayACB client backup application supports backing up data directly to a user's own Dropbox account, or a dedicated Dropbox account predefined on AhsayCBS.



Client agents directly back up to Dropbox
Back up to user's own Dropbox account
Back up to MSP's predefined Dropbox account
Enable / disable Dropbox option via policy


How It Works


How to setup policy for Dropbox backup

The policy in AhsayCBS allows administrator to: a). Enable / disable users to back up to their own Dropbox accounts, and b). Enable / disable users to back up to a dedicated Dropbox account predefined in AhsayCBS.

To enable users to back up to their own Dropbox accounts:

Go to "AhsayCBS web console > Backup / Restore > Users, Groups & Policies > Policy Group". Select an existing policy or create a new policy. Then, enable the feature "Backup Set Settings > Destination Visible to Users". After this feature is enabled, you can add "Dropbox" under Standard Destination.


Then, assign users to an appropriate User Group that is bound to this policy, and these users will be able to back up to their own Dropbox accounts. View the following video for how to configure Dropbox destination in AhsayOBM / AhsayACB version 8.



To enable users to back up to a dedicated Dropbox account predefined in AhsayCBS:

You need to create a Predefined Destination first by going to "AhsayCBS web console > System Settings > Basic > Predefined Destinations" and adding a dedicated Dropbox account there.


After the above step, go to "AhsayCBS web console > Backup / Restore > Users, Groups & Policies > Policy Group". Select an existing policy or create a new policy. Then, enable the feature "Backup Set Settings > Destination Visible to Users" and add the predefined "Dropbox" under Predefined Destination.

Then, assign users to an appropriate User Group that is bound to this policy, and these users will be able to choose the predefined Dropbox account as the backup destination. As you can see from the following image, only the customized destination name will be shown. The Dropbox image will not be shown. Therefore, if you don't want the backup users to known the type of destination used, you can simply enter a name without the destination type, such as My Backup Server.