Backup data to DreamHost's DreamObjects Cloud Storage with Ahsay
Message us on Facebook
Existing partner, login to
Partner Portal
AhsayCBS v
Release date:
Power System will be under maintenance on 21st July, 2019 (Sunday) from 08:00-19:00 GMT+8. Various services will become unavailable. Click for details.

Using DreamHost DreamObjects Cloud Object Storage as the Backup Destination

AhsayOBM and AhsayACB client backup application supports backing up data directly to a user's own DreamHost DreamObjects Cloud Object Storage, or a dedicated DreamHost DreamObjects bucket predefined on AhsayCBS.



Directly backup to DreamHost DreamObjects Cloud Object Storage
Backup to user's own DreamHost DreamObjects account
Backup to predefined DreamHost DreamObjects account
Enable / disable DreamHost DreamObjects option via policy



How to configure DreamHost DreamObjects as a backup destination in AhsayOBM

1). After logging into DreamHost's DreamObjects console, select "Cloud Services"


2). Select "DreamObjects"


3). A user has been created for you. Click "Show Secret Key"


4). This pair of keys will be used in AhsayOBM when creating the destination


5). Click "Add Bucket"


6). Enter your preferred bucket name and click "Add Bucket"


7). Click "Change Settings" for the created bucket


8). The portion without the bucket name will be used in AhsayOBM when creating the destination


9). Go to your AhsayOBM backup software and select Backup Sets


10). Create a new backup set, or select an existing backup set


11). Add a new destination


12). Choose "AWS S3 Compatible Cloud Storage"


13). Enter all the required info of your DreamHost's DreamObjects cloud storage account, then click "Test"


14). The software can successfully connect to DreamHost's DreamObjects cloud storage account


15). Save the destination info to your backup set


16). Then, we can try a backup to DreamHost's DreamObjects by clicking "Backup"


17). Select the corresponding backup set


18). Select DreamHost's DreamObjects as the backup destination and click "Backup"


19). Backup can successfully run


How to setup policy for backing up to DreamHost DreamObjects

The policy in AhsayCBS allows administrator to: a). Enable / disable users to back up to their own DreamHost DreamObjects account, and b). Enable / disable users to back up to a dedicated DreamHost DreamObjects account predefined in AhsayCBS.

Option 1). To enable users to back up to their own DreamHost DreamObjects accounts:

Go to "AhsayCBS web console > Backup / Restore > Users, Groups & Policies > Policy Group". Select an existing policy or create a new policy. Then, enable the feature "Backup Set Settings > Destination Visible to Users". After this feature is enabled, you can add "Amazon S3 AWS Compatible Storage" under Standard Destination. DreamHost DreamObjects is an S3 Compatible cloud storage, so adding this option will let users back up to their own DreamHost DreamObjects account.


Then, assign users to an appropriate User Group that is bound to this policy, and these users will be able to back up to their own DreamHost DreamObjects accounts.

Option 2). To enable users to back up to a dedicated DreamHost DreamObjects bucket predefined in AhsayCBS:

If you're an MSP who want to use DreamHost DreamObjects for storing all your users' backup data, you need to create a Predefined Destination first by going to "AhsayCBS web console > System Settings > Basic > Predefined Destinations" and adding your dedicated DreamHost DreamObjects bucket there, as DreamHost DreamObjects is an S3 Compatible cloud storage.


After the above step, go to "AhsayCBS web console > Backup / Restore > Users, Groups & Policies > Policy Group". Select an existing policy or create a new policy. Then, enable the feature "Backup Set Settings > Destination Visible to Users" and add the previously created DreamHost DreamObjects bucket under Predefined Destination.

Then, assign users to an appropriate User Group that is bound to this policy, and these users will be able to choose the predefined DreamHost DreamObjects storage as the backup destination. As you can see from the following image, only the customized destination name will be shown. Only a generic destination logo will be shown. Therefore, if you don't want the backup users to know the type of destination used, you can simply enter a name without the destination type, such as My Backup Server.